My Human Impact on the UIC campus and my community.

Being a freshman at UIC, I have not made much of a sustainable impact on campus. Before I came here, I didn’t really care about the environment and the fact that the everyday things I did could really affect the world around me. According to the Introduction of Sustainability: Human and Environment Chapter 1, “sustainable development” is a social construct that seeks to improve the quality of life for the world’s peoples. Even though I am one of seven billions humans on this earth, my habits from now on will be to promote sustainable development as much as I can.

Although I have not been aware of how I could be more sustainable to the environment, I unknowingly have been reducing my carbon footprint. In 2011, The Census Bureau collected data on how Chicagoans get to work and found that driving made up 60% of all commutes, while public transit made up 27.6%. Since my freshman year of high school, I have been using public transportation to get to most places. This has not only reduce my carbon footprint but made me more aware of how easy it is to be sustainable wherever I go. I’m glad to know that I am part of the 1.7 million+ rides the CTA provides everyday and helping that number grow and hopefully be more environmentally sustainable to the UIC campus and my community.

Sources:

https://us130urbansustainability.files.wordpress.com/2015/08/intro-to-sustainability.pdf

http://derekeder.com/chicago_commute_modes/

http://www.transitchicago.com/about/facts.aspx

5 thoughts on “My Human Impact on the UIC campus and my community.

  1. I’m not really surprised that only 27.6% of Chicagoans use public transportation to get to work. Many people live in the city, but have to commute to a suburb for work and it’s really hard to take public transportation. Just the hassle of coordinating between different buses and trains can put people off. I think those that live in the suburbs and work in the city are the majority that use public transportation such as Metra and CTA. And if you live in the city and work in the city, then public transportation is easier and faster, most of the time.

    Like

  2. With the amount of taxis, cars, bikes, etc. that number does not surprise me either. People in Chicago are always ‘going’ and need something quicker than CTA sometimes (i.e. an uber or taxi). I use CTA as well because of the expenses part; having a car in Chicago is way too much money especially with gas and parking. Glad that you’re making our city more sustainable.

    Like

  3. Hats off to you for really utilizing public transportation. Many don’t have the patience or simply “need” the convenience that driving offers. Hopefully in the future we can see the numbers for the use of public transportation climb even further. The less we use, the more we save, the longer we live.

    Like

  4. I find it interesting that such a small number of Chicagoans use public transportation. In my experience our public transportation system is reletively convinent compared to cities like L.A. and New York. I think this has a lot to do with the violence in Chicago or the fear of violence when using the CTA. I think if we make public transportation a bit safer more people will utilize it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

