Student for Sustainability

Student for Sustainability

                    

As a student, my sustainable impact has been small, but I am more mindful of it as a part of UIC. Many of these ideas are new to me and others were just not as much a thought until now. Already I can think of a couple things to share and hopefully my impact will positively increase as the semester continues. My first thought is the commute to school every day. I take the Metra train, from the suburbs, and then walk to campus from the train station. According to metrarail.com, I am now part of the 292,000 people estimated to use the Metra train each day in the Chicago area. Of this 292,000 people, about 28,300 people take the same line as me (metrarail.com). I am now one of the many Metra commuters in Chicagoland. This is a good thing for the environment, as it cuts down on pollution and traffic. The environment needs to be protected, in order to keep a sustainable city in the fu

Along with my commute to school, I have also made the choice to remain smoke free. By doing so, I am a contributor to cleaner air and a healthier environment on campus. Despite the rules, many students choose to smoke on campus and this is a bad thing for a number of reasons. According to the Centers for Disease Control, 17.8% of adults, between the ages of 18 and 24, smoke cigarettes (CDC.gov). The CDC also states that 16 million people suffer from smoking related diseases (CDC.gov). With the high costs of healthcare, a lot of money will be spent on healthcare instead of on things like development, infrastructure, and environmental cleanup. Although my contribution is small, at least it is a start.

http://metrarail.com/metra/en/home/about_metra/planning_records_reports/ridership_reports.html

http://www.cdc.gov/tobacco/data_statistics/fact_sheets/adult_data/cig_smoking/index.htm

Leave a Reply

