Sustainability Impact

Being only a freshman here at UIC, my sustainable and/or unsustainable impacts have been greater in my community than on campus. While at home, I would always leave my phone charger plugged into the wall plus other cords that weren’t in use. According to an Energy Star website, “the average U.S. household spends more than $100 each year to power devices that are turned off.”  I did a pretty good job at always turning off the lights in rooms I was no longer going to be in. Although that took me a while to get used to, I felt really proud of myself when it became a habit to turn the lights off. One unsustainable impact I am aware of and trying to reduce is my driving to work for every shift. Being that my job is located right off of a CTA train stop, I could resort to that mode of transportation because according to a website on public transportation benefits, taking public transportation reduces congestion on the streets – which can be tied back to sustainability because it can, in part, be defined as being efficient. 

Although it’s easier said than done, I’m going to try to unplug any cords in my dorm that aren’t in use because as simple of a fix that it is, it can make a huge difference. My recycling skills, or lack of, will also need some improving.

http://money.howstuffworks.com/personal-finance/budgeting/how-much-save-unplugging-appliances2.htm

http://www.apta.com/mediacenter/ptbenefits/Pages/default.aspx

3 thoughts on “Sustainability Impact

  1. I connect with this article because i try to turn all the lights off in my apartment when no one is using them. I am happy that when I travel around Chicago I have the opportunity to use the CTA, as well as, skate and walk to my destination. I tend to think a car is more of a burden, than that of a savor for individuals looking to travel in this gridlocked city. There are a total of nine males at our apartment and not one recycling bin in the community area, this limits the opportunities available to recycle our waste.

    Like

  2. That’s a crazy stat about leaving unused cords plugged it, I’m so guilty of it… I think that framing it as extra literal cost for individual is a useful tactic for getting attention (unfortunately, a lot green lifestyles actually cost extra). It’s odd how entitled to convenience people tend to feel

    Like

Leave a Reply

