Is the act of polluting a daily habit for you too?

 

Picture1

I never really understood the true definition of sustainability. According to Theis and Tomkin, sustainability refers to “development that meets the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs.”  As a student, there are many activities that I partake in on a daily basis that are not necessarily sustainable. There are so many conveniences that I enjoy that I couldn’t imagine going without. For example, as a full time student and mother, I drive to the UIC campus everyday. With my busy and very demanding schedule, driving to school seemed like the best option for me. I never thought twice about it and never considered that I could be making a negative impact somehow. Another one of my daily habits is purchasing a coffee or beverage that comes in the cute little Styrofoam cup with a logo to represent my favorite place. Again, seems totally harmless right? In the Limits to Growth (1972), “the Forester team analyzed the basic factors most likely to limit growth: population, agricultural production, natural resources, industrial production and pollution.” Well it wasn’t until this course began that I really started to understand the importance of sustainably and how the elimination of my daily pollution habits can help in even the smallest ways. Now, instead of driving everyday, I would like to try to incorporate public transportation as a means of travelling to campus. Also, I made it a point to use one of my refillable mugs, that we all have so many of, to consume my daily coffee. I think informing people on the importance of sustainability and pointing out small habits that can easily be changed is a step in the right direction.

 

References

Meadows, D. L. (1972). The limits to growth. New York: Universe Books.

Theis, T., & Tomkin, J. (n.d.). Sustainability: A Comprehensive Foundation (43rd ed., Vol. 1).

One thought on “Is the act of polluting a daily habit for you too?

  1. I totally agree that informing people is the most important form we can treat this disease of overconsuming. I like how you have since changed your habits, I could imagine how challenging it may have been at first. Convenience isn’t always the best excuse to harm our planet, which I believe everyone can improve on no matter how difficult. I myself continue to struggle with it at times and ask myself “if only I could just drive” for the convenience.

    Like

Leave a Reply

