Sustainability in Chicago

 

Growing up in Chicago for most of my life I have been accustomed to the “go green” type lectures. I tend to brush it off because I thought I was already well informed and have been doing my part. However, it’s 2016 and the “green” movement is stronger than ever and not much has changed in the city of Chicago or in my life to help keep a sustainable lifestyle.

Chicago_Sears_Tower.jpgIt wasn’t until two years ago that my neighborhood got our recycling bins and even then we barely use it. With the busy schedule of school and work it’s kind of hard to keep track of what’s recyclable and what’s not. I usually just tend to throw anything and everything in the garbage. It also just seems easier that way. However, one way I do lessen my carbon footprint is by using public transportation to and from school and work. Thanks to UIC’s necessary U-Pass. Someday I would like to maintain a sustainable lifestyle.

https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Chicago_Sears_Tower.jpg 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Sustainability in Chicago

  1. You brought up a really good point that not all areas have accessibility to sustainability. When I lived in Little Village we kept hearing about the blue recycle bags/bins that were all over the city. Funny, my area didn’t receive them until much later. One of the issues that I’ve noticed the more we discuss sustainability is the inadequacy in education and resources for all to make decisions towards sustainability measures in their day to day.

    Like

  2. I totally relate to this! Up until I was 15, I lived in Little Village which is a dominantly hispanic community made up of working class income homes. My parents never took a second look at their trash, it was always all just thrown away together. They never had a reason to recycle either because like Maria said above me in her comment, Little Village barely received their recycling bins last year. When I moved to Garfield Ridge, there was recycling bins in place and I knew what went where because of teachers in school that were showing us how to be beneficial to our environment. But my parents weren’t going to school, so they had a really hard time trying to adjust. I believe that it is unfair to people in the same city to not have the same experience, now I can just imagine the greater social inequalities that exist in respect to sustainability in the world.

    Like

Leave a Reply

