Sustainability Process

I grew up at a farm. As a young kid, I never had to think about recycling, urban pollution, or waste. The quality of the environment I lived in was a result of the way I sustained it. Living within the city now, I chose to not overlook the same principles that were imprinted into my DNA years ago. There are many ways in which I can sustain and positively impact the community I live in.I choose to bike more often in the summer, as well as take public transportation when capable. To keep myself hydrated, I use a personal water bottle instead of plastic ones. Another thing I could do is help plans trees or different plants. Joining

I choose to bike more often in the summer, as well as take public transportation when capable. To keep myself hydrated, I use a personal water bottle instead of plastic ones. One other thing I could do is help plans trees or different plants. Joining www.treefresno.org is a great way to get involved. I could also help maintain the parks, streets, or school campus clean by not littering.

In addition to these elements, I could help maintain a more sustainable environment by letting others know the steps of doing so. Together with my friends, we can discuss ways to reduce pollutions or ways they can take greener steps. With my family, we can think of ways to keep our house energy efficient. We can also talk about reducing plastic usage in our home, like using our own grocery bags when going shopping. By letting others know how to keep the community, the impact will become more evident than on my own.


Works Cited:

“Sustaining the Environment | Root Capital.” Sustaining the Environment | Root Capital. Web. 29 Jan. 2016.

http://www.rootcapital.org/issues/sustaining-environment

“Sustaining the Environment | Root Capital.” Sustaining the Environment | Root Capital. Web. 29 Jan. 2016.

https://ypte.org.uk/factsheets/sustainability/about-sustainability

 

2 thoughts on “Sustainability Process

  1. The examples you’ve mentioned as your habits of upholding your individual sustainability are some in which I’d like to apply to myself. Since I live over an hour from UIC, biking is unfortunately not an option, nor do I own a bike, which I would consider investing in at some point. I like that you mentioned having a personal water bottle rather than using plastic bottles since many people, including me, purchase the plastic ones out of convenience. You also brought up a good point in regards to discussing on using grocery bags from home instead of using plastic bags, which again, is usually chosen out of convenience. Since plastic bags are used a lot, especially as garbage bags, what would you suppose a good solution would be as an alternate to plastic bags when throwing out garbage?

    Like

  2. You mentioned that you never had to worry about sustainability or recycling because of where you are from and i can agree with that since im from Ukraine myself and the town that i lived in was small therefore there was no such thing as recycling or making the environment sustainable and i still think that nothing has not changed with this issue.

    Like

Leave a Reply

