UIComposting

Project Title: UIComposting

Project Timeline: Approximately 1-2 years
The timeline for this project would be 1-2 years because in order for it to start and be successful, it would have to first be approved by the University, and then for faculty and students to work together to make it happen.

Project Description:  Each year, in the United States 40% of food is wasted, yet 1 in 6 people don’t know what their next meal will be. Some College campuses have been trying to reduce this problem, and one way to do so is by composting. The project I propose is that UIC participate in composting. If UIC composted, we could reduce the food waste and help the community around us. There are many different ways one could compost, but what I propose for UIC would be in-vessel composting system because it can range from small to large scale, and in a space like the city of Chicago, composting would want to be done where it creates less or no odor (especially on a college campus). In order to do so, the University would need to invest in an in-vessel composting system. The prices for in-vessel composting can be expensive, but in the long run it would be beneficial. If UIC had a composting system, we could use the compost for our gardens to produce plants and food, which can help benefit students and faculty for educational purposes, for example like botany majors, and growing food could potentially help the community or even the University in the future.

Preliminary Project Budget:
This project can range anywhere from $1,000 to $45,000, depending on the size of the composting system that the University would need.

References:
https://www.universitybusiness.com/article/colleges-reducing-food-waste-and-greening-earth
http://www.campuskitchens.org/food-waste/
http://universityofcalifornia.edu/news/college-campuses-take-food-waste
http://www.compostjunkie.com/composting-techniques.html
http://cwmi.css.cornell.edu/invesselcomposting.pdf

5 thoughts on “UIComposting

  1. I wrote the other blog post about composting here at UIC, and I have to say, your post does a great job of getting the problem of food waste across with your opening line. In my post I didn’t focus much on the statistics behind food waste because, mostly, I am a cook and I know how much food gets wasted on a daily basis at the commercial scale. So it’s easy for me to imagine how much food gets thrown out by Campus Dining regularly. I think with that as part of your approach you will make more people pay attention quite readily.
    Also, I agree that any type of composting on campus would have to be in-vessel, but I don’t know about the viability of starting on a commercial/industrial scale. In my opinion, it would have to start on a small, and intimate scale near a high traveled area so as to raise awareness. Composing is asking people to take their trash separation a step further, and as we know, ‘out of sight, out of mind.’ I think general education on the topic is the core part of any composting project.

    Just an interesting side note, UIC does not have a Horticulture program. I tried to apply for one here in the city of Chicago, but there aren’t many options. Although, with a huge stock pile of compost and a green house from another post, Maybe the University of Illinois system my think about getting one started on campus. Wishful thinking haha.

    Like

  2. I wrote the other blog post about composting here at UIC, and I have to say, your post does a great job of getting the problem of food waste across with your opening line. In my post I didn’t focus much on the statistics behind food waste because, mostly, I am a cook and I know how much food gets wasted on a daily basis at the commercial scale. So it’s easy for me to imagine how much food gets thrown out by Campus Dining regularly. I think with that as part of your approach you will make more people pay attention quite readily.
    Also, I agree that any type of composting on campus would have to be in-vessel, but I don’t know about the viability of starting on a commercial/industrial scale. In my opinion, it would have to start on a small, and intimate scale near a high traveled area so as to raise awareness. Composing is asking people to take their trash separation a step further, and as we know, ‘out of sight, out of mind.’ I think general education on the topic is the core part of any composting project.

    Just an interesting side note, UIC does not have a Horticulture program. I tried to apply for one here in the city of Chicago, but there aren’t many options. Although, with a huge stock pile of compost and a green house from another post, Maybe the University of Illinois system my think about getting one started on campus. Wishful thinking haha.

    Like

  3. I believe that this a great sustainability idea for UIC. I agree that there is far too much food waste, whether it be from the restaurants on campus, dorm students, or from the cafeteria. By announcing this, we can work together as a university and have resources for compost coming in from all around campus. There is even access waste in the neighborhoods around campus, that can smell and look unappealing to everyone around it. By taking it a step further, we can also communicate with the local businesses around UIC and start receiving compost material from outside sources. This would reduce waste on and around UIC. Using self-made compost for the greenery at UIC is a great idea and I think that we should submit this to make it happen!

    Like

  4. Luckily not all food is the cafeteria is wasted and a decent amount of food is donated to a nearby shelter. Unfortunately, not all food is able to be donated so composting is an excellent way to get ride of the leftovers. In addition to the comment above I too was disappointed about the lack of a horticulture club here at UIC. I wrote the article about getting a greenhouse here on campus and was then notified by other students that there was in fact one already on the grounds. I am in the process of contacting the biology department who oversees the greenhouse to see if we can work students into using a part of it to create a horticulture club and composting area. Please submit this to the sustainability free project and maybe we can all work in conjunction with one another. 🙂

    Like

  5. I love the idea and all the information presented. When thinking about organisations on campus that can help out the Latino Cultural Center, who is in charge of the small garden beds around campus, and the Office of Sustainability, who is in charge of the greenhouse, stuck out to me. I feel that in order for these projects to be successful they need to start off small and grow. It would be interesting to first see this compost be used at the Heritage Garden and then become a larger project maybe even partnering with individual restaurants on campus each week.

    UIC Greenhouse: https://sustainability.uic.edu/locations/uic-greenhouse-and-plant-research-lab/
    UIC Heritage Garden: http://heritagegarden.uic.edu/#about

    Like

Leave a Reply

